My Poems For Kids Just Made Parents Mad


I wrote a few poems for children and read them at a library’s story time. The parents were less than pleased and screamed at me to leave. I don’t know what I did wrong. My mother used to read me poems like them all the time when I was a kid.

Well, here are the poems. Maybe you can tell me why they aren’t kid friendly.

Little Billy Went to Town,

Little Billy Met a Clown

The Clown gave Billy a buck

Then Little Billy got hit by a truck

 

Sunny Suzy had a doll

She loved it to bits

The doll was filled with lead

Which gave Sunny Suzy fits

 

All the little puppies came out to play

Look at them romp around,

In their little puppy way

They chew on the table

And pee on the floor

And leave a special surprise

Just outside the door

Damn puppies!

 

The sun is shining brightly

And the sand waits to be traversed

We’re stuck in the Namib Desert

And we’re gonna die of thirst

 

My love is deep

Deeper than a well

But it’s not for you, jerkoff

I hope you rot in hell

6 thoughts on “My Poems For Kids Just Made Parents Mad

  1. I simply can’t imagine why your poems made the parents mad. I mean it seems pretty kid friendly especially when compared to fairy tales of the big bad wolf or the cannibalistic hag who was going to eat Hansel and Gretel or the endearing gingerbread man gets eaten by the fox or the wolf eating the duck in Peter and the Wolf. Hmmm….maybe it was the ‘rot in hell’ sentence.

    • Really? I should pitch these to Hollywood! Then again, these are intended for the under five crowd. I don’t know if Hollywood is interested in that demographic.

Leave a Reply

