Pizza, How Could You Burn My Mouth? A Poem of Deep Sorrow


I decided to write a poem about a grave injustice foisted on me by what i thought was an understanding piece of savory pie. Let this be a warning to you, not all foodstuffs can be trusted.

Pizza, How Could You Burn My Mouth?

Bubbling sauce, melting cheese

Taste beyond compare

Welcomed kiss, of hungry teeth

Mouth in anticipation

Blinding pain, hanging skin

My heart betrayed

Pizza, how could you burn my mouth?

I thought we had something special.

8 thoughts on “Pizza, How Could You Burn My Mouth? A Poem of Deep Sorrow

  1. Car, because your poem shows such sorrow of betrayal and you seem to have a closer than usual relationship with your pizza, I wonder if a few sessions of therapy with your pizza pie might be helpful.

  2. I went through three boxes of Kleenex after reading that poem. It was easy to relate to, compelling, sad… You deserve to be among the masters, Car.

Leave a Reply

